Aller au contenu

Notre Conseil d’administration

The Council of Canadians is governed by an exceptional volunteer board of directors. The Board is composed of a purposeful mix of the various voices in Canada who are committed to the protection of the commons, mother earth and social justice, and therefore along with Chapter activists, represents a mix of Indigenous, labour, environmentalist, student and human rights activists.

John Cartwright

Président du Conseil des Canadiens. Cartwright est l’ancien président du Conseil du travail de Toronto et de la région de York, lequel représente quelque 200 000 ndiqué.e.s qui travaillent dans tous les secteurs de l’économie Lire la suite.

Lily Chang

Elected Secretary-Treasurer of the Canadian Labour Congress (CLC) in June 2021, Lily is the first worker of East Asian descent elected to office at CLC. She started her career as a social services caseworker and saw first-hand how inequality and racism were linked to poverty. The disparities and education cuts affecting her children fueled her interest in labour work. A strong advocate for workers and public services, Lily previously served as Treasurer of CUPE Local 79 and on the board of the Toronto & York Region Labour Council.

David Condon

Chapter representative, retired postal worker and union activist for 34 years, serving in executive and educational capacities. Condon helped to organize the Medicine Hat Chapter in 2016 to become a strong voice for progressive change across the country.

Nita Grass

A Tsilhqot’in, is an activist who is passionate about water and food safety issues. Nita is a long-time member of the Council of Canadians and a strong advocate for Indigenous rights.

Joey Hartman

Retired as president of the Vancouver & District Labour Council in 2018. She has spent 40 years as a labour, community and social justice activist, including many years on staff of the Hospital Employees’ Union. In addition to the Council of Canadians, Joey is on the boards of the BC Labour Heritage Centre, Vancouver Community College and Pacific Blue Cross. She also serves on the Labour Studies Advisory Committee at Simon Fraser University.

Marilyn Hay

Chapter representative, a retired federal public servant, Marilyn has extensive experience in HR, social policy development, operational and change management, negotiation, and leadership coaching. Before joining the PS, she was a RegN (psychiatry and crisis assessment); she has a HonBA (History) and is a graduate of the National Defence College (international affairs). After six major joint replacements, she has some understanding of disability and accessibility challenges. Currently, she is Chair of the Kitchener-Waterloo Chapter.

Lorraine Hewlett - CofC Board

Lorraine Hewlett

Secretary, was a founding member of the Council’s NWT Chapter and previously served on the national Board of Directors as the Prairies/NWT representative. Lorraine has over two decades of professional experience with policy development and evaluation, and many years of experience in management. As a political activist, she has been a member of Ecology North, Amnesty International, Alternatives North, Fracking Action North, the Union of Northern Workers, and the Public Service Alliance of Canada. She also served as the President of the Northern Territories Federation of Labour (NWT/Nunavut).

Jerry MacKinlay

An environmentalist for 40 years, Jerry first joined the fight against climate change as a member of Friends of the Earth in the 80s. He has since served as Atlantic Regional Development Director for Greenpeace Canada and worked at the Ecology Action Centre in Halifax, both of which he still supports today. Jerry serves as co-chair and treasurer of the HRM Chapter of the Council.

Diwa Marcelino

Through volunteer work as an organizer for Migrante, national committee member for United for Mining Justice, steering committee member for KAIROS and several other organizations, Marcelino has worked at the grassroots level to promote migrant and indigenous rights, and support ecological and social justice initiatives.

Joe Mihevc

Joe Mihevc

Active on a host of global and local social justice and environmental issues, Joe facilitates strategies to build more socially just and sustainable communities.

Bianca Mugyenyi

Bianca Mugyenyi

Bianca is the director of the Canadian Foreign Policy Institute and former Co-Executive Director and co-founder of The Leap. She is based in Montreal.

Tara Seucharan

Tara Seucharan

A dedicated water and climate justice activist, Tara brings coalition-building skills from her volunteer work with diverse grassroots networks, including Toronto Climate Action Network. Co-chair of the Toronto chapter since 2008, she’s energized by the new dynamic role of Chapters in the Council of Canadians. She currently works on the Fossil Banks movement at Greenpeace Canada.

Navjeet Sidhu

A labour and migrant justice activist and currently works as a researcher with Unifor. He has been involved with a number of grassroots activists groups and has served as a board member for several non-profit organizations.

Deedee Slye

A communications expert with campaigns and coalition-building skills. Based in Halifax, she brings a deep knowledge of the political landscape and issues facing the Atlantic provinces.

Steven Staples

A Canadian policy analyst and president of Public Response, a digital agency that services non-profit organizations and trade unions in the fields of online engagement and government relations. He also founded the Rideau Institute.

Les affiliations organisationnelles ne sont données qu’à titre indicatif.